Washington Cricket Club


Washington Cricket Club WCC-WMCB v WCL-Taurids CC on Sat 14 Jul 2018 at 12:00 PM
Washington Cricket Club Won By 10 Wickets

Match report Jeeresh’s 5-for Steam Rolls Taurids as Washington Win by 10 Wickets

A typical steamy hot afternoon, and a dry crumbly Hyattsville wicket laid the foundation for a Washington vs Taurids game that the bookies would had passed to bet on given the gulf in quality of the sides. Washington definitely went in as the favorites given their performance in 2018. However, getting their act together is a quality that even the best lack. Viral called Subhadip after rejecting the hypothesis that he had gone invisible overnight, only to be greeted by someone on the other end who was more surprised than a Miss Universe contestant after learning that their name had made it. Enter Avinash, who had wandered onto the field in shorts and flip flops to escape the corporate ghosts that pursue you even on the weekend. With a white pant from here, shirt from there and shoes from another one - Washington completed their eleven for the day.

Viral, it seems, had been complacent during the week practicing the toss. Hence, Taurids called it right and decided to bat. It probably wasn’t the start they expected when Ankur’s first ball found the outside edge of the opening batsman and was comfortably pouched by Jeeresh at second slip. The Taurids batsmen found going get tough against Ankur and Sam, who bowled disciplined lines and lengths and seldom provided opportunities to score. With almost nothing going their way, Neerav decided on the next best thing - charge Ankur and swing for the fences. The only contact the ball made was with the off stump. Ankur found the top of the off-stump again in his next over to send Taurids reeling further into trouble. At 25/3 in 10 overs and the incumbent batsmen struggling, Washington was looking at bowling Taurids out cheaply and getting home early. Ritwik replaced Ankur and was too short for the pace of the wicket - giving a few runs to Taurids to cherish. Jeeresh, who replaced Sam at the other end, seemed to have found his rhythm from the get go. Washington went into the first water break with the score at 43/3 in 13 overs, conceding 18 off the last 3 overs. The budding partnership between Munish and Vinod providing more fuel to Vinod who would be a millionaire if he got a dollar for every time he talked while batting. Jeeresh found Vinod’s middle stump only 3 balls after the break to give another jolt to Taurids. However, Viral - who replaced Ritwik - uncharacteristically found it tough to get into a groove at the other end end runs began to flow. In the process he even debunked Ankit’s claim that no one could clear the field with the large boundaries set. However, the Jeeresh show was about to start. First, Jeeresh disturbed Munish’s furniture when Munish decided to go across the line after being patient all this while, and then cleaned up Sudhakar the very next ball - middle stumps both times. Viral pulled a classic trick off out of the captain’s hat by handing the ball to Ankit to take all the pace off for Vivek trying to hit every ball out of the park. The move paid off immediately as Vivek holed out to deep midwicket off Ankit’s second delivery, and sunk Taurids even deeper into the hole at 66/7. The very next over Jeeresh continued his love affair with the middle stump by picking up Moniss first and then Usamah four balls later. This completed a fantastic 5-wicket haul for Jeeresh - all 5 clean bowled, all 5 middle stumps. It was indeed a refreshing sight in an age where bat dominates ball for the most part. The last pair for Taurids did show some grit and determination, adding 21 for the 10th wicket, but could only contend with 2 balls of leg-spin from Arjun. Taurids were bundled out for 96 in under 26 overs.

Avinash and Ashu opened the inning for Washington after pinky-swearing not to run each other out in the first over. Taurids had other issues in store. Usamah opening the bowling for Taurids only lasted 5 balls as he delivered 2 beamers and was consequently banned from bowling for the rest of the game. The other bowlers lacked quality and discipline to give any trouble to Ashu or Avinash. As the overs and the score gently ticked off, the rest of the batting order comfortably settled on to the bleachers with platefuls of rice, kidney beans and chickpeas - confident of not being needed for the chase. Without making much of an effort the Washington openers had 31 on the board within 5 overs. Combining solid defense with risk free strokeplay, Ashu and Avi guided Washington to 60/0 in 10 overs, and pretty soon walked off the field for the first water break with the score at 70/0. It was more of the same from both ends after the water break and in the 18th over, Ashu finished off the game in style with a boundary straight down the ground to give Washington an emphatic win by 10 wickets. Ashu and Avinash walking off with 42(53) and 34(54).

All said and done, the day definitely belonged to Jeeresh, whose spell of 7-2-20-5 undisputedly gave him the Man of the Match title. This result combined with other results across Division I put Washington as the number 1 team.


WCL-Taurids CC Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
96 (25.2 overs)
A Desai ct  c Jereesh b Ankur 0
N Desai b  Ankur 3
M Saini b  Jereesh 23
R Nithyanandham b  Ankur 0
V Motwani b  Jereesh 10
V Kumar ct  c Ritwik b Ankit 13
S Gollapinni b  Jereesh 0
S Andrabi Not Out  6
M Kissen b  Jereesh 1
U Ali b  Jereesh 4
S Linga ct  c Ritwik b Arjun 9

Washington Cricket Club WCC-WMCB Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Washington Cricket Club WCC-WMCB Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 20w  
for 0 wickets
Ashutosh Gairola Not Out  42 53 6 79.25
Avinash Varma Not Out  34 54 2 62.96
Ritwik Behera  
Ankur Saini  
Sameer Apte  
Ravi Parthasarathy  
Pratik Goradia  
Arjun Varma  
Viral Patel  
Jagannath Surampudi  
Ankit Aggarwal  

WCL-Taurids CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
U. Ali0.40900.0013.50
A. Desai2.301900.007.60
S. Andrabi4.001400.003.50
M. Kissen1.001200.0012.00
N. Desai5.002000.004.00
V. Motwani3.201700.005.10
M. Saini1.00700.007.00